Cambridge High School

Sports Awards

Evening

2020

co

Cambridge High School - School Hall Thursday 22nd October 2020 7.00pm



ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The School would like to thank all those staff, parents, caregivers and supporters of Cambridge High School who have assisted the school's Sports Programme this year. The time you have given as coaches, managers, teachers and supporters of our students is greatly appreciated. It is largely because of the support you have given, that our students do succeed and achieve well on both the Waikato and New Zealand Secondary School Sports scene. We hope you will continue to support Cambridge High School in 2021 and beyond.

Special thanks go to

Cambridge High School Educational Trust

Keith Weston

Holly Rutherford

Neil Ward

Mega Mitre 10 Cambridge

Photography Masterpiece Photography Photos can be purchased from Masterpiece Photography on <u>www.masterpiece.queensberryworkspace.com</u> Login - CHS Awards 20 Password - CHS20

PROGRAMME

Welcome by MCs Hinewai Knowles and Alex Methven

co

Presentation of Summer Sports Awards presented by Mr Greg Thornton, Principal

co

Guest Speaker Sonia Waddell

co

Presentation of Winter Sports Awards presented by Mr Greg Thornton, Principal

co

Presentation of Cambridge High School Major Sports Awards

presented by Mr Mike Henson, Board Chair

co

Supper

SUMMER SPORTS

Athletics	Herbert Smith Cup – Senior Girls Champion Martin Byrne Cup – Senior Boys Champion CHS Cup - Outstanding Performance	
Swimming	Herbert Smith Cup – Senior Girls Champion Speight Cup – Senior Boys Champion CHS Cup - Outstanding Performance	
Motocross	CHS Trophy - Rider of the Year	
Archery	CHS Trophy – Archer of the Year	
Tennis	A Johnson Trophy - Best WSS result	
Cricket	Thomas Cup - Services to CHS Cricket Hunt Cup - 1 st XI Boys Player of the Year	
Equestrian	Forster Family Trophy for Outstanding Service to CHS Equestrian CHS Cup - Outstanding Contribution to CHS Show Jumping CHS Cup - Outstanding Contribution to CHS Dressage CHS Trophy - Outstanding Equestrian Performance	
E-Sport	CHS Cup Player of the Year	
Golf	Penrose Cup - Golfer of the Year	
Rowing	CHS Rowing Club Cup Outstanding Service/Contribution to CHS Rowing CHS Cup – Girls Rower of the Year CHS Cup – Boys Rower of the Year	
Sevens	Hudson Trophy - Girls Player of the Year	
Volleyball	CHS Trophy - Outstanding Contribution to Volleyball CHS Cup - Senior Girls - Player of the Year	
Water Polo	Rose Family Trophy - Outstanding Service and Contribution CHS Cup - Girls Player of the Year CHS Cup - Boys Player of the Year	

Water Skiing CHS Cup for Water Skiing.

WINTER SPORTS

Squash	Edmunds Cup - Boys Player of the Year	
Basketball	Haig Trophy for Service/Leadership in Basketball CHS Cup - Premier Girls Player of the Year CHS Cup - Premier Boys Player of the Year	
Climbing Cycling	 CHS Trophy - Climber of the Year CHS Trophy - Outstanding Contribution/Service to CHS Cycling Mc Donnell Cup - Services to Track Cycling CHS Trophy - Female Road Rider of the Year CHS Trophy - Male Road Rider of the Year Colin Dixon Cup - Female Track Rider of the Year Grant Ackerman Cup - Male Track Rider of the Year CHS Cup - BMX Rider of the Year Sam Gaze Cup - MTB Rider of the Year CHS Cup: Female MTB Rider of the Year. Ackerman Trophy Senior Cyclist with outstanding potential 	
Football	Peter Wilkinson Cup - for Services to CHS Football Hollis Trophy – 1 st XI Girls Player of the Year Vic Butler Cup – 1 st XI Boys Player of the Year	
Hockey	Bichan Cup - Service to CHS Hockey Lyburn Cup – 1 st XI Girls Player of the Year Mills Cup – 1 st XI Boys Player of the Year	
Lacrosse	CHS Cup - for Service to CHS Lacrosse Forman Trophy - Girls Player of the Year CHS Trophy - Boys Player of the Year	
Netball	Windsor Nissan Trophy – Dedication to Netball Mary Scott Trophy – Premier Girls Player of the Year	
Rugby	Landers Cup - Girls Player of the Year Peter Bodie Memorial Cup - Upholding High Values Voyle Cup – 1 st XV Services to Rugby Rugby Club Trophy - for the Most Valuable Senior Player BOS Trophy – 1 st XV Player of the Year	
Shooting	Laurie Gray Cup - Coach's Award CHS Trophy - Smallbore Shooter of the Year	

MAJOR SPORTS AWARDS

Good Sort Trophy

for Extra-ordinary commitment to a CHS Sport

Sports Director's Cup

For Outstanding Contribution to CHS Sport by a staff member

Argyle Cup

for Outstanding Participation in CHS Sport

Team of the Year

Coach of the Year

CHS Cup: Outstanding Contribution to Sport by a Coach

co

Sir Mark Todd Cup for

Outstanding Achievement in Sport

Gordon Cup

for CHS Sportsperson of the Year

SIR MARK TODD CUP

2006	Shem Rodger	Cycling
2007	Kurt Kirby	Martial Arts
2008	Emily Alison	BMX
2009	Emily Alison	BMX
2010	Andrew Schofield	Karting
2011	Mitchell Horan	Water-ski Racing
2012	Talia Horgan	Athletics
2013	Micah Wilkinson	Sailing
2014	Nikita Howarth	Para-Swimming
2015	Nikita Howarth	Para-Swimming
2016	Carl Jones	Archery
2017	Deigna Khamal	Athletics
2018	Leila Walker	BMX
2019	Hinewai Knowles	Athletics

GORDON CUP

1978	Keith Gordon Rugby/Golf/Sof			
1979	No award			
1980	M Walker			
1981	Catherine Wilkinson Athletics/Netball			
1982	Catherine Wilkinson Athletics/Netball			
1983	No Award			
1984	Neil Alton	Rugby		
1985	Neil Alton Rugby			
	Anke Neischmidt	Athletics		
1986	No award			
1987	John Gilkison	Ruby/Cricket		
1988	Stephen Kidd	Rugby		
1989	Andrew Colquhoun	Swimming		
1990	Michael Elliott	Athletics		
1991	Kirsty Watson	Netball		
1992	Jay Cowley	Squash		

1993	Jarrod Presland	Athletics
1994	Jarrod Presland	Athletics
1995	Kylie Mitchell	Netball
1996	Guy Penrose	Golf
1997	Leanne Brown	Squash
1998	Regan King	Rugby
1999	Genelle Willers	BMX
2000	Donald Oxley	Water Skiing
2001	No award	
2002	Donald Oxley	Water Skiing
2003	Shem Rodger	Water Skiing/Cycling
2004	Shem Rodger	Cycling
2005	Daniel Stevenson	Athletics
2006	Shem Rodger	Cycling
2007	Jodi Beaumont	Netball
2008	Jodi Beaumont	Netball
2009	Charlotte Brooks	Golf
2010	Brooke Kirkbride	Cricket
	Kate Welten	Equestrian
2011	Brooke Kirkbride	Cricket
2012	Nikita Howarth	Para-Swimming
2013	Dawn de Bruin-Wakelin Mitch Jacobson	Netball Rugby
2014	Luke Jacobson	Rugby
2015	Ella Ransley	Lacrosse/Athletics
2016	Sam Monkley	Rowing
2017	Alannah Mouat	Lacrosse/Adventure Racing
2018	Sam Hogan	Rowing/1st XV Rugby Adventure Racing & Sir Edmund Hillar Challenge
2019	Leila Walker	BMX